My So-Called Obama

One day this week (and the specificity of that should tell you where I’m going here) Obama broadcast the State of the Union.  I missed it.  In truth, I not only missed it, I didn’t even know it was happening.  And so I watched it right away on the internet…

Except I didn’t.

When I went away to college, I lived in a little bubble in the middle of spit and nowhere.  The bubble was strong and well, bubbly, and I didn’t pay much attention to life outside my classes and the latest on-dit.  Sure, if we talked about politics in a class, I read and did my homework, but other than that – life outside the bubble stayed way outside the bubble.

And then I came back to the real world and life resumed itself.  But now I find myself back in a bubble.  The baby bubble.  Where my biggest concerns involve napping and eating and who’s pooping what.  I have no interest in Obama’s wish list even though I know I should.  And I feel bad about that.  Guilty that my tunnel vision is making me not only a bad American, but a stupid one.  I don’t know a lick of what’s going on and instead of buckling down and finding out, I spend my free time trying to lie in bed.  My mind is probably atrophying as we speak.

Obama, if you’re reading this, I’m sorry.  Please don’t be mad at me.  obama's mad at meI promise to pay attention soon…maybe.  Probably.  The bubble can’t last forever, right?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

