50 Shades of Hollywood Exciting

Let me begin by saying that I’m fairly excited about who Hollywood has chosen to be Mr. and Mrs. Christian Grey.  It’s a heck of a lot better then it could’ve been.  Hollywood casting has chosen some real doozies in the past that from the very get go I was like, um? Excuse e moi what?!  Sometimes you know failure before you even have to see it crash and burn. Exhibit A: Katherine Heigl, Jason O’Mara and Daniel Sunjata as Janet Ivanovich’s characters from the Stephanie Plum novels?  Blech.  What a waste of a perfectly good franchise opportunity.  You’ve got what?  19 books in a series that people are still reading and Hollywood shoots that money-maker in the foot. Katherine Heigl?  I’m sorry, but Oprah would’ve make a better Stephanie Plum than Katherine Heigl. Exhibit B:  I remember when I saw The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (the 2009 Swedish version) and was blown away by how well Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapace translated the book into action.  Two years later, Hollywood made its own version, which I never saw, but scoffed at.  Iye yie yie.  Daniel Craig?  Casting did understand the character was a reporter and not an international hit man, yah? So now we come to the movie everyone and their grandmother has been waiting for…50 Shades of Grey.  Of course fans are in a roar over who is playing who, but here’s what the doctor is giving us.  Dakota Johnson and Charlie Hunnam – Ta dah! Screening Of Fox's New Tuesday Night Comedies Dakota 2Charlie Hunnam charlie 2 50 shades Now if you’re like me, you’re like “who are these people.”  So let me tell you.  Charlie is the guy from Sons of Anarchy (never seen it) and the recent monster hit, Pacific Rim.  I saw Pacific Rim and I can’t say much about his acting chops, but he’s great to look at.  (see shirtless photo above)  You all who watch Anarchy will have to tell me if he’s any good or not. As for Dakota, I’m actually a big fan after seeing her in the Fox flop, Ben and Kate.  I liked Ben and I liked Kate.  Dakota was hapless, clueless, awkward, lovable, and fit – that girl has a great figure.  So put a pair of glasses on her, some brown hair, and yeah, I can see her getting spanked by Mr. 50 Shades of Complicated.  I had no idea she was Hollywood progeny and I wish I still didn’t.  I think if people thought she was a nobody they would really dig her.  She’s pretty likable despite being Hollywood royalty. In short, I am cautiously optimistic about this movie.  Casting did a fairly decent job and now we just have to watch and see how director Sam Taylor-Johnson (that’s a woman by the way, I’ve never heard of anything she’s done) makes an X rated movie into an R rated one.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “50 Shades of Hollywood Exciting

  1. mary

    Yep, big fan of SOA and Charlie’s quite hot.

Leave a Reply

