The Great Big Halloween Candy Exchange

My house is littered with raisin boxes and crayons and it’s all my fault.

For the first time in a decade I went trick or treating.  Needless to say, a certain ladybug I know came home with quite the stash.  While chocolate is one of my personal major food groups, as far as our two year-old is concerned, it’s pure contraband.  Thus mommy created, The Great Big Halloween Candy Exchange.

It started off with a conversation: trick or treating, getting candy, trading the candy in for cool stuff, blah-blah-blah

Step Two was a trip to Target: here Gwendolyn the Great* picked out two bags of stuff from the $1 bins.  All things GG thought were awesome with no interference from mommy.  She was dying to get at it except mommy told her she had to wait unti after trick or treating.  Once she got the contraband, mommy would do the exchange – 1 fun toy/snack for 1 piece of candy.  (*names have been changed to protect the innocent)

Step Three: Trick or Treating.  The highlight of this was GG holding both my and my husband’s hand and shouting, “WE ARE A FAMILY!”  We tried not to wince since baby was home asleep and quite obviously missing from our after-dark adventure.  At least we had Kiki the Wonder Dog with us who was also not-so-coincidentally dressed up as a ladybug.  Sam dressed as himself by the way, and I was a witch.  Although when GG saw me she shouted, “Bruja!” and burst out in gleeful giggles.  Somehow in Spanish my costume sounded more like an actual description then a costume choice.

And then came the final step, The Trade: GG dumped her candy onto the living room floor and with closed eyes, reached time and time again into the Target bag for her trades.  Apple sauce, a rubik’s cube, coloring books, Hello Kitty stickers, a slinky, glow in the dark snowmen, snoopy markers…the list of stuff is endless.

So I got through another Halloween without a jacked-up sugar monster, but in exchange I got $1 loot sandblasted throughout my house.  Eh.  I’ll take the $1 crap anytime.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

