The Black Keys & A Bucket List

A week ago I took a dear friend to see the Black Keys for her 40th.  After selling my left kidney to buy tickets we rendezvoused and  found, to my great pleasure, that our seats were awesome.  I had a fever during the show and kept cracking a sweat, but other than that I loved every minute of it.

It’s very unlike me these days to do something so spur of the moment and spontaneous.  Standing there rocking out with a bunch of twenty-somethings, the pot fumes swirling around me, I felt old.  And that’s when I realized I need to do more things that make me feel young.  True, it’s challenging when your kids get up at 4:45 in the morning…  (yes, that really happened today).. but I feel I must try or else perish into middle age, depressed and angry that my best years were lost changing diapers and trying not to crash my car.   (you try driving half-awake with screaming children)

And so, standing there watching the light show, I started putting together my bucket list.  It’s a work in progress, but here’s what I’ve got so far:

  • Re-learn how to play the piano (aka find a teacher patient enough to give me lessons)
  • Volunteer more
  • Go on safari
  • Walk the Great Wall
  • Spend a winter in Russia
  • Spend a summer in Sri Lanka
  • Hike through New Zealand
  • Ride through Mongolia
  • Get engaged again (same guy, different romantic comedy)
  • Touch the Hagia Sophia, the Taj Mahal, and the great pyramids
  • Buy Bug Spray – then go to Vietnam, the Amazon, and Papua New Guinea
  • Sail through the Galápagos Archipelago
  • Visit Brazil, visit Korea, visit Thailand
  • Pose on a Cape Town beach pretending to squeeze Table Mountain
  • Take a vacation with National Geographic and learn something besides where the best shoe stores are located
  • Kiss a gorilla, sit on an elephant, hug a baby monkey
  • Go to grad school
  • Adopt a child, rescue a gazillion more animals, and start riding horses again
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

