Fifty, Meet Gideon Cross

For those lovers of the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy, for those who think, “Now what am I going to read after my long days in the coal mine?” – well, have I got the solution for you.

ImageSylvia Day’s Bared to You, the first novel in what looks to be a fun series (Reflected in You comes out October 2nd) is pretty much the exact same storyline as Fifty Shades except…it takes place in Manhattan.  Okay, okay, there are a few slight changes (more money, fewer helicopters, and everybody has baggage in this saga), but the overall plot-line is the same.  Regardless of the “I know where this is going” aspect, Bared to You turns pages just as quickly as Fifty Shades and I’m dying to get my hands on the next installment.  I picked up Gideon Cross and Eva Trammel mid-day yesterday and between changing diapers, doing my Insanity workout, and relaxing at a friend’s BBQ, still managed to finish the book by 10pm.  It’s that addictive.

Which cannot be said for Sylvain Reynard’s Gabriel’s Inferno series.  I’ve read only the first book, but I think I can confidently say, it is not as good of a read.  Same basic plot-line once again (except Gabriel is a professor in this series and his “bottom” is a post-grad student), but the pages just don’t fly through the fingertips.  (p.s. is it just me or is it weird that both of these copycat writers have almost the same first name?)

I’ll keep my ears open for other odes to our dear, delicious Fifty – I know there are a lot of you out there looking for more more more.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Fifty, Meet Gideon Cross

  1. Mary

    i’ve already bought the follow up book….

  2. I LOVED this book! As I loved Fifty Shades…..can’t wait for what comes next.

Leave a Reply

