Being Elmo

About a year ago a dear friend of mine gave my child an Elmo doll.  Now I had no idea who Elmo was.  Didn’t even know that this red, furry creature was Elmo.  Had she gifted our household with Prada, Gucci, Yves St. Laurent – something leather, something feathered, something shiny and gold – those I would recognize.  But instead, in comes Elmo and our lives have never been the same.

Elmo, known as MoMo in our household, is from Sesame Street.  I didn’t know this.  He is red, has an orange nose, and speaks in the third person.  Most importantly however, Elmo has a very distinctive high-pitched voice that he uses to express his desire to hug and kiss and love on you.  All news to me.

To this day, I still haven’t seen Elmo in action as we don’t watch TV in our household, but we do supply room and board for several Elmo dolls in various sizes.  There is the miniature Elmo who rides in the car.  The large Elmo who sleeps in the crib.  The talking, walking Elmo who scares the bajeezus out of me.  The Elmo who laughs and makes jokes every time you jiggle him and his mouth flops open.  And last, but not least, the holiday Elmo who sings Jingle Bells when you press his foot.  We also have an Elmo fork, an Elmo spoon, an Elmo bowl, and an Elmo plate.  Oh and many items of Elmo clothing and reading literature.  If I’ve forgotten anything, I apologize to Elmo.

So needless to say, when I heard about the documentary, Being Elmo, I was intrigued.

Last night I finally watched it and all I can say is…even if I still had no idea who Elmo was (and sometimes, trust me, I wish I didn’t) I would have loved this film.  It touched me and made me feel so proud of this man’s accomplishments.  It’s a Rocky Balboa story minus the fighting plus some google eyes, some fake fur, and some prosthetic noses.  Best part yet, this marvelous story begins in Baltimore.  Yay, Baltimore!  And not to give anything away, but I had just had to share this: Make A Wish Foundation + Elmo = Big, huge tears on my part.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Being Elmo

  1. Mary

    You know you love him! what about cookie monster……

Leave a Reply

