Arrested Development

Where was I when this show was on the air?  Thanks to the goodness that is Netflix (hello instant streaming) I have been introduced to the

 

show, Arrested Development.  On air from 2003-2006, there are only 3 seasons for me to gulp down and I have, voraciously.  I’m on Season 3 right now and just thinking about there being no more Bluth family makes me want to paint myself blue.  A movie has been in the rumor mill for years now, but so far nothing has come to fruition.  As Gob likes to say, Come on!

The show’s premise is simple, the Bluth family is a walking disaster.  Dad Bluth is in prison/on the lam/under house arrest for treason.  He built homes for Saddam and cooked the books while he was at it.  Mom Bluth, a saucy viper (literally. she starts drinking at breakfast) pits one child against the other while she vacillates between her husband, his twin brother, and her youngest son, Buster.  And speaking of Buster (last one on the right), love him!  The youngest child in the Bluth family, Buster’s about one hand short of a full set.  I’m totally infatuated with him, his hook, and his Charlie Browns.  Give that boy some more juice!

Michael Bluth (Justin Bateman, dead center) is the only “normal” one in this highly dysfunctional family and has the herculean task of holding them all together while saving the family business.  Meanwhile, his son George Michael (Michael Cera) and his sister’s daughter Maebe (who may or may not be adopted) are getting a little too close for comfort for north of the Mason Dixon line.  They all live not-so-happily in a sinking model home in Orange County.

Gob (pronounced Jobe – far left) is the oldest Bluth child and a talentless magician who can’t seem to keep it in his pants.  The one and only sister (played by Portia, Ellen’s wife) is married to Tobias (that’s them on the left next to Justin Bateman) and in a loveless marriage.  Tobias, once a analrapist (his take on his psychotherapy) now an unemployed actor, lives with the family despite being in an open relationship with his wife, Lindsay.  Neither Tobias nor Lindsay are having any luck.  Tobias is most certainly gay.  And last but not least is Franklin, Gob’s angry, brown puppet friend.

The Bluth’s are amazing and I’m not sure what I’m going to do when I’m finished watching their histrionics.  I need more Bluth and I need it now.  Mitchell Hurwitz needs to write that script and Fox needs to greenlight it pronto.  Life is just too too dull without them.  But don’t take my word for it – watch it for yourself.

The chicken dance as performed by the Bluths:

Buster and Franklin:

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Arrested Development

  1. Harry

    How are you just finding out about this? This is my favorite show of all time! Afternoon Delight is my #1 episode.

  2. I’m exploring the clothing of the show in depth on my blog, you may enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

