Social Network -vs- The Town

As I drove past yet another billboard advertising Social Network, Rolling Stone magazine’s ‘Movie of the Year!’ I had to scratch my head.  Really?  Movie of the year?

Social Network is the story behind the rise and rise and rise of Mark Zuckerberg’s Facebook and its matriculation from a Harvard dorm room to an international addiction.  The Town on the other hand, is an action-packed thriller about Charlestown, the bank robbing capital of Boston.  I enjoyed both movies tremendously, but I think I might be the only person in America (besides Ben Affleck) who preferred The Town over Social Network.

There have been a lot of great movies made about notable people and many of them have been recognized for Academy award winning performances.  Ray Charles, Johnny Cash, and Julia Child come to mind to name a few.  So what makes Social Network all that much different?  That it’s contemporary?  That Mark Zuckerberg has been quoted as saying quite a lot of artistic liberty was taken to the story?  Or is it that 1 out of 14 people on the planet is a member of Facebook?

Perhaps it’s because I’m not a huge fan of Facebook, but The Town had me on the edge of my seat the entire time.  At one point I even took my blood pressure.  My heart was beating so fast I thought I was having a heart attack.  But why does just one of these great movies have to be “the best?”  Why can’t they be tied?  And that’s my review.  They’re both good movies so go get some sleep and see a double feature.  My only recommendation is to choose wisely as one of them will really keep you up for awhile.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

