Fage Greek Yogurt

At first, I didn’t like it.  It’s thick and creamy and tart, quite unlike the smooth, fruity yogurt I was used to as a child.  Where were the blueberries on the bottom?  Why was the consistancy so darn heavy?  And yet Fage Greek Yogurt has slowly, but surely become my yogurt of choice – slyly replacing one brand after another until it’s the only yogurt I ever want.

Fage comes in one flavor (plain) and three styles; whole milk, 2% milk, and nonfat or 0%.  I go for the 0% or the 2% depending how my jeans fit.  1 cup has a whopping 20 grams of protein.  Uh, huh, 20 grams!  For someone like me who is constantly anemic, 20 grams is like a get out of jail free card.  Unfortunately, at almost $5.00 a container, it’s far from free.

So for those of you who want to add a little pizazz to your breakfast, try this new recipe.  It’s my staple these days and I have to say, it does me right morning after morning.

  • 1/2 cup to 1 cup Fage Greek Yogurt
  • 12 raw almonds
  • 1 spoonful natural honey or agave nectar
  • 1/2 cup t0 3/4 cup fruit (I like to do a  frozen blueberry/raspberry/cherry/and blackberry blend, but frozen peaches, strawberries or bananas are also delicious.  Fresh fruit is good too, it just doesn’t have the crunchy factor you get with frozen.)
  • 1/4 cup granola
  • mix and gobble!
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fage Greek Yogurt

  1. Harry

    there’s no eggs in that. I hate it.

Leave a Reply

