Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock

Have you ever had something on the schedule that’s like headlights in the distance?  For some the headlights might be a grand adventure, a trip abroad, even a wedding perhaps.  For others the lights ahead are a serial killer coming down the road in a dirty, El Camino or a day to sign the papers or the last time you say goodbye.  The point is, it’s there, ahead, waiting, coming, creeping closer.  That’s where I am right now.  I cross off today in my calendar and count.  It used to be that I counted in months.  Then it switched it to weeks.  Then days.  And now the time frame of those headlights bathing me in light is so close I can see their outline.

I’m not sleeping anymore.  I lie in bed waiting for sleep and thinking of all the things I could get up and do.  I could get a massage, but who gives massages at 12:30am?  Right.  I don’t think I want that kind of massage.  Maybe I should drink some milk, but honestly, my nights are so filled with milk as it is, I moo’ed at a stoplight yesterday.  So I do what I always do, I get up and read.  I’ve read 19 books in the past two weeks.  I’m 1/3 of the way through my 20th.  I’ve read about expeditions up Mount Everest in the early 1900’s, Van Gough’s loss of his left ear, teenage vampires up to mischief, and ladies of the regency looking for love in naughty rakes.   I’ve read about pipelines in Iran, mobsters in Russia, banks in Sweden, and rickety old houses filled with witches.  aliceI’m not choosy, just awake.

So if you ever fall down the rabbit hole and are staring at a pair of headlights in the distance, don’t fret.  I’ve got a list of places that you can travel to night after night.  Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

