The Rain

It’s raining for the second day in row here in Los Angeles.  I know, it’s crazy.  I can’t even recall the last time it rained…perhaps last January or February?  Hank has never experienced rain before and finds it fascinating.  He watches the water as it drops and falls and splatters on the ground with a snap-plop-splash.  I’ve never seen him so relaxed.  It’s as if the rain has put him under a trance.

Last night I went to a party and came out at midnight to see a group of young people huddling under a canopy.  They were waiting to get inside the bar next door and there were dozens of them.  The canopy was only 5×5 at most and seeing them all squished in like that reminded me of farm animals in a pen.  But fashionably dressed of course.  As the rain came down and the young women in their high heels squealed, I marveled at how bad Angelenos are in inclement weather.

Driving in the rain out here is a joke.  As far as the people of Los Angeles are concerned, rain is as cataclysmic as any other natural disaster.  We only know one weather; sunny.  So what are we supposed to do when the sun goes away?  Women cancel their appointments.  Students miss school.  Men refuse to take the dogs out.  Life as Los Angeles knows it comes to a screeching halt.  It’s raining, dammit!!!

I happen to like it and use the rain as an excuse to stay home and relax.  No gym.  No errands.  No nothing.  You can catch me on a rainy day in one of two places; home or at the library.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Rain

  1. Harry

    I LOVE the rain. It is so peaceful and relaxing. I am not a fan of 40 degree rain, but I don’t know anyone who is.

  2. Sam

    I took the dogs out. They walked right through the biggest puddles.

Leave a Reply

