Word of the Day

I don’t usually pull out the word of the day until the end of the week, but with Hank’s little adventure, work, and the big ‘W’…I’m pooped.  I even look like a train wreck.  One of my clients told me to ‘go home and get some rest’ yesterday with a hesitant pat on my back.  I wasn’t sure if the hesitation came from fear of how bad I looked (like a I might be contagious) or pity for how bad I looked (like I might break), but I wasn’t offended.  Once a woman at the gym told me how excited she was for me that I was losing all the baby weight.  Even then I wasn’t offended and I don’t have a baby.  I saw it as a compliment; she could tell that I had been lifting weights and toning up.  Glass half full.

So in honor of being tired, looking tired, and still going full steam ahead, I give you triskaidekaphobia.  I thought it only fitting.

triskaidekaphobia \tris-ky-dek-uh-FOH-bee-uh\, noun:

Fear or a phobia concerning the number 13.

When Molly caught sight of Sara she felt a visceral reaction; Sara’s appearance was much more frightening than the number thirteen.  Why had Molly been plagued by a stupid number for so many years when an ever scarier being had been in front of her all this time?  And like that, Molly’s triskaidekaphobia was gone, only to be replaced by Exaustalunaphobia.tired_husband

Exaustalunaphobia \ex-ahw-stah-FOE-bee-uh\, noun.

Fear or phobia concerning tired people who look more crazy than they did the day before.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

