Murder Interrupted

The titillating trial of Amanda Knox and her boyfriend, Raffaele Sollecito for the murder of poor Meredith Kercher has resumed.  For those just tuning in, Knox and Sollecito are accused of murdering Kercher during a drug-fueled sex game gone violent.  The fourth party, African Rudy Guede, zoomed through a speedy trial almost a year ago and was sentenced to 30 years.  He continues to plead his innocence, but since he’s not a cute, white girl from the United ap_amanda_knox_090718_mnStates, I’m not sure anyone is listening.

After a summer hiatus, the trial is back on and attorneys for the defense began with a bang.  Their argument was that ‘the entire trial should be annulled because they were not given proper access to DNA evidence obtained by the prosecution.’*  As I’ve said before and will say again, it’s like the OJ debacle all over again.  Luckily, Judge Giancarlo Massei told them to go to hell and the trial continues.  DNA on a knife found in Sollecito’s kitchen links both him and Knox to the murder weapon, which the defense (now that they’ve lost the DNA trap) is going to try to prove is not the weapon.  They’re so predictable.

The facts are, their alibis are weak.  Knox said she was with Sollecito.  Sollecito says Knox may or may not have been at his house, he couldn’t remember.  And then he does remember and yes, she was there, but he was asleep.  And then Knox states that she was definitely on the computer, but the computer whizzes show that it was never turned on.  Not to mention the testimonies of all their friends who recall their strange behavior after Meredith Kercher’s body was found.

Let’s put it this way, I remember who was at a party I threw for Sam’s birthday almost a year ago.  I remember what we ate, what I wore, where people congregated…that was a year ago, at a party of 30 or 40 people.  I’m fairly certain that Knox and Sollecito knew where they were and what they were doing when the police questioned them mere days later.  I don’t care how crapulous your life is, it’s not that hard to remember things like, “Oh yeah, two nights ago when my roommate was killed I was at my boyfriend’s house.  I’ll never forget it because it could’ve been me who was killed by vandals.”  (That’s what the defense is going for; that Kercher was a victim of a robbery gone awry.)  But since both Knox and Sollecito can’t quite figure out where they were or what they were doing it’s probably more a case of, “Oh yeah, two nights ago when my roommate was killed, I was standing over her with a bloody knife, high on drugs and half-naked.  But since I can’t tell you that, I think I may have been at my boyfriend’s house…probably working on the computer?”

Or maybe I’m wrong.  Maybe Know is innocent and Sollecito is the mastermind behind all this, but either way, I’m not buying that some random robber came in and killed Kercher.  If it smells like a duck and walks like a duck, it’s probably a duck.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

