Elvis Is Dead…

…But Not Forgotten.elvis

In Memphis this week, thousands of fans gather to celebrate Elvis’ death week.  There’s even a website for it: elvis week.com Things like ‘Elvis Bingo’ and ‘Club Elvis’ pepper the schedule for when devotees decide to take  a break from their candlelight vigil.  Elvis Presley died August 16, 1977.

Now I don’t know about you all, but Elvis was way before my time.  Nevertheless, on my first visit to Memphis to meet the in-laws, Sam took me to Graceland.  I wasn’t really that into it, but I went along just to be polite.  My future mother-in-law had gone to school with Priscella and in Memphis, it’s practically illegal to not love the King.   To my great surprise however, Graceland was spectacular and I fell head over heels for Elvis.  If you haven’t been there, it’s hard to describe why it’s so special because it’s much more than just the some of its parts.

When I got back to L.A. I rented some of his old movies and everytime I  watched that man dance, shivers ran up my spine.  Even now, with the clip below, I watch him and get giggly.  Hee-hee-hee…he’s so sexy.  It’s the moves or maybe just something in that Memphis water; Justin Timberlake is from Memphis and when I saw him dance I got silly too.  Like all of a sudden I’m a 13 year old girl at a Jonas Brothers Concert.  I guess I’m just a sucker for a man who can dance.

One of my favorite Elvis songs, rockabilly-style:

And we can’t ignore the full body suit and the stiff-legged stance.  That stuff is seriously amazing.  Somebody needs to bring this look back fast:

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

