Pet Travel Made Easy

I know, I know, I’ve been on a pet kick lately.  Maybe it’s because I spent last weekend away from my little havoc-makers in Newport celebrating my upcoming nuptials.  Or maybe it’s just because I spend so much time trying to get Kiki to eat and Hank to stop eating everything he finds on the ground, that they’re always on my mind.  So without further ado, here’s my last pet entry for at least a week.  I promise.

PetAirways, the new all-pet, in-cabin airline (PetAirways.com) is launched and ready for your four-legged friend.  I went on today and was told the dates that I picked were full.  Looks like the airline is doing well and why shouldn’t it be?  I’m sure I’m not the only pet owner who thinks it’s absurd to pay hundreds and hundreds of dollars each way so that my dog can either be stuffed under the seat in front of me or locked in a crate in cargo.  It’s horrible.  Kiki Wonder gets in her bag and for 8 hours the poor doll doesn’t get out.  No potty breaks, no stretching, no nothing because while the airlines love taking money for her to fly, she’s not allowed out of her bag at any point.

Big dogs have it even worse in the cargo hold with loud noises, strange handlers, and vacillating temperatures.  At least Kiki is with me for those 8 hours of suffering.  If I flew back to Maryland with Hank, I’d have to turn him over to who knows who in the hopes that it would all work out in the end.  Often times, it doesn’t.

PetAirways is a genius idea and one that I think will give the major airlines a wake-up call.  Pets are part of the family these days and while some of us might not mind crazy Uncle Vernon riding in the plane’s belly, alone, and out of earshot, we don’t want Fido there.

Paws Up on MSNBC

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

