Darfur, Amanda Knox, and Jessica Simpson: Louche

Louche, pronounced LOOSH, is an adjective that means several things: of questionable taste or morality; disreputable or indecent; dubious; (and finally) shady.  What brings this word to mind is not just the great way is sounds (LOOSH, LOOSH, LOOSH), but the stink of what’s going down these days.

In Darfur, two women with GOAL, an Irish aid group, have been kidnapped for the requested sum of 2 million dollars.  If that’s not louche behavior, I don’t know what is.  Here these two women are, doing something so incredibly noble and selfless, and a bunch of juiced-up yahoo’s go and kidnap them for ransom.  What is it with the some of the people in Darfur?  Did half of them get born to a demon mother?  The death toll there now (according to U.N. humanitarian chief John Holmes) is 300,000 people.  It makes me ill.

Meanwhile, in other louche news and world reports, Amanda Knox continues to stand on trial in Perugia, Italy.  amandaknoxAccused of murdering her roommate, Meredith Kercher, Knox has taken the stand to say that despite what she told police earlier, she was at her boyfriend’s house all night.  Raffaele Sollecito, the boyfriend is also accused of murder.  Prosecutors claim that he held Kercher down while Knox stabbed her to death and Rudy Hermann Guede had sex with her in a “drug-fueled sex game” gone awry.  Personally, I think Knox probably did it, which, considering her angelic good looks, might just win her the award of most louche crime of the year.

simpson-romoAnd last, but not least, poor Jessica Simpson.  The gorgeous, blond bubble-head just can’t catch a break.  Gossip pages everywhere are sizzling with the update that Simpson has been dumped…again.  The night before her ‘Barby and Ken’ themed 29th birthday party, boyfriend Tony Romo gave her the boot.  I wonder if it had to do with ‘Barbie and Ken’ part.  Not known for her classy taste, Simpson’s 3rd grade birthday party might have been a touch too close to home for Romo.  With those good looks and quotes like, “I thought that I had to be deeper, more profound and more artsy…Tony taught me [it was okay to be myself instead] because he loves me [as me].*” Simpson may be more like the doll than Romo wished.  Which brings us to our final louche of the day; when you look like Barbie and act like Barbie, you can’t be throwing some louche Barbie birthday party.  It’s just not that cute.

*Glamour magazine (entire quote):

“He reintroduced me to myself,” Simpson told Glamour. “I thought that I had to be deeper, more profound and more artsy. You change with the guys you date.”
“Tony taught me that because he loves me [as me]. He made me feel comfortable [being myself] again,” she said.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Darfur, Amanda Knox, and Jessica Simpson: Louche

  1. megan

    Poor Barbie. I still love her though. She can burp and fart like the best of them. Who needs deep and artsy when you have crass and stinky?

Leave a Reply

