Integrity. A Four Letter Word.

No.  No.  Not Yet.

I’m still waiting.

Nope.

Mmm-mmm.  I don’t think I’m ever going to believe it.  Yesterday an 18-year old told me that she had her math final in the bag.  I asked her how since I know for a fact that she hasn’t been studying and that this is the type of material you need to study.  Her answer?  (Are you ready for this?)  She gave her math teacher Laker tickets and now he’s going to (and I quote) “hook her up.”

No.

Los Angeles Lakers 2007-2008 team photo

Nope.

Not yet.  I still can’t believe it.  The definition of integrity is an “adherence to moral and ethical principles. ” In other words, honesty.  I thought it was a value we were trying to teach our younger generations.  I thought it was an ideal that people aspired to…little did I know, it’s for sale.  But hey, maybe they’re great tickets.  Maybe they’re in the front row, during play-off season, next to Jack Nicholson, with a free shoe shine thrown in.

It’s possible that teachers aren’t supposed to teach about such things anymore.  That integrity has become synonymous with joke, crap, damn, and <bleep!>  Just another word whose meaning has been put up for interpretation.  I’ll tell you what though, my conscience would never allow me to do something like this…even for an Hermes bag or a new sofa that Hank hasn’t killed or a computer that works.  My integrity is still worth something.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Integrity. A Four Letter Word.

  1. Compromising one’s integrity is like being a little bit pregnant. It is a daily challenge to keep oneself honest in a world of mis- and gross and overstatement, and the little slide slips into “what the heck” and beyond. I despised the guy’s cynicism, but as George Greene always said, “everyone’s got their price.” A fib about the dog eating homework, not correcting a mistake at the cash register, Lakers tickets, marrying for the big house, the fancy car; whenever “the price is right.” Bill Cullen knew!

  2. Harry

    She will be pretty effective in the business world though.

  3. m

    This is a very sad state of affairs. And I would bet the teacher is at a private school. It is YOUR duty to report it to the school. If I was sending my child to a private school that cost over $20K per year in tuition, I would not want a teacher like that one in any classroom. I really don’t know what this world is coming to but it is disgusting. And this 18 yr old – why does SHE think it is okay to function this way. I hope you gave her the lesson in integrity that her parents should have long ago. I’m incensed if you can’t tell!

Leave a comment