Some Days It’s Just Not Worth Getting Out of Bed (without an Hermes belt to put on)

Wednesday.  And I wake up to the construction crew from hell.  They’re moving machinery that’s so big and loud it feels as if it’s right there in the bedroom with me.  BeepBeepBeep. 

At least it’s cool in my bedroom, which is more than I can say for the last three days.  Los Angeles has been like the third level of hell this past week.  I bought a new air conditioner yesterday because I just couldn’t stand it anymore.  It’ll be here in 7-10 business days.  With my luck, the rest of the summer will be a brisk 52 degrees and my large purchase will be for naught.  I spent an hour yesterday debating the air conditioner versus the Hermes belt and as soon as I hit the purchase button I knew I’d probably made the wrong choice.

Today looms ahead of my like a great, big whale of don’t want to, but have to.  I’ve got a dishwasher to unload, poo to pick up in the backyard, and errands to run at the grocery store, the hardware store, and the dog store.  And then I go off to work until 9 o’clock at night.  This does not sound like a sexy, fun day. 

Non est vivere sed valers vita est.  Life is not just for living, but living well.  Whoever wrote this didn’t live in a big city, in the modern world, with two dogs, and an air conditioning unit instead of an Hermes belt.  So what can I do to make this day worth it?  In case I drop dead between now and the poo picking up, what will make me feel as if I’m living well?  The belt obviously, but I’ve got to put that out of my head.  There are too many other things I need more like dog chews and cooling appliances.  What else would brighten my day?  New shoes (that’s a no brainer) but still, it just doesn’t seem right to spend money on myself in order to cheer myself up.

But wait a minute…I haven’t bought myself a single thing since December.  All I’ve done is buy things for other people; baby gift, wedding gift, lunches, dinners.  Even the dogs have gotten weekly treats thanks to me.  Non est vivere sed valers vita est.  Life is not just for living, but living well.  Hmmm.  I have wanted that belt since May 2008…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Some Days It’s Just Not Worth Getting Out of Bed (without an Hermes belt to put on)

  1. Harry

    Is that like a weight lifting belt? Don’t use those.

Leave a Reply

