Volunteer In India

A good friend of mine is leading a trip to India this June through Habitat for Humanity.  For very little you, a friend or you and a friend can do something for someone else.  In this economy, giving of ourselves is the only way to make a difference.  I’ve attached some information below if you’re interested.  Heck, you might even see me there!  I’ve been known to do crazier things than to go to India and build houses.

 Kanyakumari, India

June 6–20

The town of Kanyakumari lies at the southernmost tip of India, where the Arabian Sea, the Indian Ocean and the Bay of Bengal converge. This place of great natural beauty, with its blue seas to the south and blue hills to the north, was hit by the 2004 tsunami, and approximately 7,000 homes were destroyed.

During these uncertain economic times, it is becoming increasingly apparent that my fortune exceeds that of so many others around the world. Therefore, I feel a pull to spend a meaningful amount of time giving back to others. If you’re reading this, I’m sure you feel the same.

I am Kimberly Stafford, a New Yorker by birth, who has been living in Los Angeles for seven years, and will “settle” in Portland, Oregon in 2010. My husband and I have led two Global Village trips, to Honduras and Bolivia, and I am excited for my first solo lead. I hope to recruit a team that is diverse in age, background and beliefs, but unified in our common goal to help others and be immersed in Indian culture.

The most amazing thing to me about Global Village is not the building of the home (which is impressive in its own right), but the building of relationships that happens during these trips. You will learn from our hosts, laugh with your teammates and leave India with new lifelong friends and an experience that you will never forget.

For more information about the trip, please contact me via e-mail at kimberly@astonesthrow.us or phone: 970-333-3464 (Pacific Standard Time). I look forward to hearing from you!

Habitat for Humanity

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

