She’s Just Not That Into YOU

I saw He’s Just Not That Into You last night….hmmmm.  Medium.  Let me just preface by saying I loved the book, the abridged version that is.  Written in 2004 by Greg Behrendt and Luz Tuccillo, it’s a fantastically motivational book for women who want love and who find themselves bending over backwards in order to find it.  It has 273 pages, each one numbered carefully with one thought per page:

14  Don’t waste the pretty!

45  If I were into you, you would be the bright spot of my horribly busy day.  Which would be a day that I would never be too busy to call you.

55  The word “busy” is the relationship Weapon of Mass Destruction.  It seems like a good excuse, but in fact, in every silo you uncover, all you’re going to find is a man who didn’t care enough to call.  Remember: Men are never too busy  to get what they want.

61  Don’t be with someone who doesn’t do what they say they’re going to do.

72  It’s about the guy who wants you, calls you, makes you feel sexy and desired fully.  He wants to see you more and more often because every time he sees you, he likes and then loves you more and more.

84  There’s a guy out there who will want to tell everyone that he’s your boyfriend.  Quit goofing around and go find him.

91  I know it’s nice to have companionship and to wake up with somebody that you really like, but that’s what pets are for.  Pets are God’s way of saying, “Don’t lower the bar because you’re lonely.”

145  Most guys, or let’s say the guys I want you to be dating, will make sure, as soon as reasonably possible, that you know they mean business.

182  There’s a guy out there who’s going to be really happy that you didn’t get back together with your crappy ex-boyfriend.

198  Let his mother yell at him.  You’re too busy.

236  Life is hard enough as it is without choosing someone difficult to share it with.

For a single woman, sometimes it’s hard to remember that you’ll find someone who makes you happy and as a result, we obsess about men who are just not worth the time or the energy.  That’s why this book is so wonderful.  After a break-up, during the gray area of more than one date, but less than a relationship – it’s like a manual for respecting yourself and realizing that if he doesn’t see how great you are, someone else will.

The movie on the other hand, allowed the women to come across as downright crazy and although there’s a happy ending, it diminished the power behind the book.  So that’s why I gave the movie a medium.  I liked it, but I would’ve like it more if the movie allowed us women to remember and feel versus watch and judge.  Because if we’re being honest here, all of us have done something embarrassing when we’re into someone who’s not treating us very well.  Afterwards, we can never believe that we did it, but during the drama we’re so wrapped up in our feelings, all rational behavior flies out the window.  

On a side note, I took Sam last night as my date.  Curious as to the male perspective I asked him afterwards what he thought.  “I liked it okay.”  He said, smiling at me from under his baseball cap.  “You’re my exception.”  Which brings me to page 160 because for all of the emphasis that’s shined upon us women and our quest for love and marriage, don’t forget that men are going through the exact same journey.

160  There’s a guy out there who wants to marry you. 

And don’t you forget it!!!

Comments Off on She’s Just Not That Into YOU

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.