Not So Super Superbowl

Millions of people gathered around buffalo wings and mini-kegs to watch the big game yesterday, but not me.  I’m not a big fan of televised sports and until about 11am, I didn’t even know which teams were playing.  So instead of eating too much and trying to make small talk with people who keep jumping up and screaming, I went to a farmer’s market, talked on the phone, and took a hike. 

It was a beautiful day in Los Angeles and up in the trails above Malibu, my iPod kicking, I saw that there were other humans who couldn’t sit in front of a TV all day either.  I wasn’t alone.  True, most of my fellow hikers were women, but there were some men too.  Like undercover brothers, we greeted one another.  “Nanu-nanu.”  we whispered with wide-spread fingers, which is basically code for, “You don’t watch football either?”

As the sun finally began to slip behind the horizon, Sam and I returned home sweaty and tired…and then Sam promptly turned on the TV to see the last of the game.  Yes, from the other room I heard him shouting and cheering, but I stuck to my guns.  I was not going to have to watch football today, no sir, no way.  In this case, now that the hike was over and we were back home, that meant watching the movie, The Women on my computer while in bed snacking on an ice cream sandwich.  (Loved the sandwich, hated the movie.)

My point it this, if I hadn’t refused to go to a Superbowl party I would’ve missed out on an amazing hike and a delicious ice cream sandwich.  And I would’ve done something that I really, really didn’t want to do, which is just the stupidest idea ever.  Why do we always do things we don’t want to do?  Okay yes, sometimes you just don’t feel like writing great Aunt Gertrude a thank you for the socks she knit you.  I’m not talking about that.  I’m talking about the little things that don’t hurt anyone but yourself.  So this week when you get invited to do this and invited to do that, think about it.  Do you really want to or is it just one more thing that keeps you chasing your tail?  Wouldn’t you rather have the free time to do what you really want to do?  I would.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Not So Super Superbowl

  1. Harry

    this confirms it, you really are a communist. Not wanting to go to a superbowl party?!?!? It is probably one of my favorite days of the year. I’m just kind of in to gorging on food that I make myself not eat the rest of the year, drinking ice cold beer, laughing, shouting, jumping, high-fiving, and gambling. Oh… Ok, I can see why you didn’t want to go.

Leave a Reply

