I Have a Friend…

…who started biking everywhere before hybrids even existed.  Who reuses her plastic sandwich baggies and who would rather be caught naked than drinking from a plastic water bottle.  This friend builds houses for people she’ll never know and takes everyday containers and turns them into something useful.  My friend doesn’t throw bag after bag of trash into her recycling can and into her garbage can because she thinks about what she’s consuming first.   She’s  considerate.  To her it’s the EARTH not just the earth. 

This friend recently sent me something that she wanted me to take a look at.  She even reminded me about it and yet it’s taken me three days to get around to it.  Once I opened her email I wished I kept a cattle prod around the house.  It’s a wish I wish for often and not just because I’m some kind of kinky, sad0-masochist fruitcake.  

I get lost almost every day.  Right now for example, it’s 11am.  How did that happen?  I have no clue where the time goes, but somehow the sun sets and the stars rise and I still haven’t gotten my hair brushed.  The worst part about this is that I have great intentions that aren’t getting accomplished.  Like this one:  Friends of Animals – I want to volunteer my time walking these poor dogs and yet I never seem to get over there to do it. 

So here’s what my friend sent me and why I’ve gotta get a cattle prod:  Time Banking – The idea is to motivate, organize, and mobilize the troops (that means us) to get out there and volunteer.  I’m sharing it with you because it worked.  I made a phone and I’m heading over to walk some dogs on Friday.  Perhaps my friend’s energy, kindness, and attention to the world beyond herself will have the same effect on you as it did on me.

And this was the second part of her email in case you still need just a bit more inspiration.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

