Hip Hop and Away

Back in August or September I wrote a blog about my new favorite hobby, hip hop dancing. Well I’ve been practicing now about 4 or 5 times a week and I’m getting better.  Today my teacher asked me to be in a hip hop amateur competition.  I know.  I give you permission to laugh.  I can’t think of anyone who would buy a ticket to see me dance, let alone judge my ability to do the robot into a full-body krump.

The thing about hip hop dancing is, it’s addictive.  My ipod is now filled with Kanye, Jay Z, and Eminem.  I walk the dog and as she smells the grass, I do a shoulder shimmy.  I unload the dishwasher and the next thing I know, I’m spinning in a circle flicking my arms up like goal posts.  No longer are ordinary things ordinary.  Why?  Because I can’t stop dancing!

I took a jazz class a month ago and had to keep myself from falling asleep.  Where were the booty shakes?  Where was the body roll?  I’ve moved on from moving gracefully.  Now it’s time hurl my jiggly bits onto the floor and do the worm.  Yes, I’m passing go and running straight for break dancing.  Sam comes home and wonders where his sweet, old-fashioned Sara has gone.  Instead, I’m usually to be found in my hip hop gear twisting and torquing my body while 50 Cent raps about being in Da Club.  It’s insane in the membrane.

So, I’ll keep you posted as rehersals start.  And when it comes time for my hip hop amateur competition well, I don’t think I’ll be letting you know.  In the meantime, get out there and dance.  It’s never to late to shake it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Hip Hop and Away

  1. megan

    There is no way in the world I would miss your debut at the am competition. I will make a button with your picture on it and wear it proudly in the stands. I will cheer the loudest…is it still cool to do the Arsenio Hall whoo, whoo, whoo?

  2. m

    OK, call me crazy but is that you in the video wearing the white jacket – I can’t really see any faces….

Leave a Reply

