Friday’s Menagerie

I’ll begin this session with the sad news that Bettie Page has passed away at age 85.  I dressed as Bettie Page last Halloween.  For authenticity, I watched several movies like The Notorious Bettie Page and looked at pages and pages of Internet pictures.  She really was a remarkable woman who made a mark on the world – not like Martin Luther King made a mark, but a groove in the wood all the same.

This is an interview with her about her life if you’re curious.  (warning: the reporter is really cheesy)  8 minutes:43 seconds

In other news and world reports, I purchased my first pair of Ugg boots yesterday and succumbed to pressure to go see Slumdog Millionaire.  I’ll start with the Ugg boots.  I’ve never been one to do what everyone else does, so even though I knew that Uggs were comfortable, their popularity held me off.  Yesterday however, after weeks of shopping for slippers, I realized resistance was futile.  They really are the most luxurious things – warm and cozy and plenty wide enough for my toes to stretch out and be happy.  I don’t find them particularly stylish, but the other outdoor slippers I’ve tried were no better.  A couple of years ago I found the fringed moccasin boots and let me tell you, in terms of warmth and comfort, these Uggs kick their rawhide rear-ends.  As well, I’ve realized that they’re like my cashmere sweaters.  My aunt lives and sleeps and spends 9 months out of the year in one cashmere sweater or another – a habit I’ve assimilated into my own.  My Uggs will be like my cashmere sweaters and 20years from now, when no one can remember the fad, I’ll still come home and slip into a cashmere sweater and a pair of Uggs.  (at least that’s what I’m telling myself to get over being such a sell-out)

Now on to the movie Slumdog Millionaire.  I didn’t want to see it and I didn’t want to see it.  Why?  Because everybody and their brother has been talking about it and stupidly, it triggered my ‘I refuse to do what everyone else does’ button.  I even tried to return my movie ticket – so glad that didn’t work out.  Riveting, humorous, heart-wrenching, eye-opening.  I was exhausted by the time we entered the theater at 9pm last night, had to use the ladies room for most of film, and was wearing flats with no socks so my feet were cold and I still couldn’t bare to blink and miss a second.  Not once did I wonder when it was going to be over.  I loved it and would go on and on about it, but since I know first hand how irritating that is, I’ll spare you.  Make up your own mind, but remember, even the drum soloist wants to march with the band sometimes.

And lastly, what good is a blog if you can’t market your friends?  Answer: no good at all.  Here’ the latest from my friend, Shauna’s make-up efforts.  Pass it along so she can become a viral make-up megastar.  She wants to get famous enough that she can stop moonlighting at Barney’s House of the Dead and Crematorium.  It’s depressing her.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

