Moo (to the) ving.

I woke up in the middle of the night covered in a cold sweat.  Bubble Wrap had been chasing me down a dark alley.  He and his evil companion, Packing Tape had been trying to corner me inside a refrigerator-sized box full of kitchen utensils.  “No, No, No!” I screamed – and gasping I sat up awake.

I currently live in a rat-like maze full of boxes.  Box #1: Bathroom – medicine, first aid, make-up, and beauty products.  Box #2: Bedroom – shoes, jewelry, sewing machine, and jar of lost buttons.  It goes on and on like this way into the 60’s.  Box #62: Kitchen – FRAGILE! Vases, votives, and clear glass dessert plates.

Kiki, Sam, and I wind our way like clumsy tight-walkers in and out of the sinuous path of boxes.   When I awoke in the middle of the night, gasping from my nightmare, I decided to get up and get a glass of water.  For a brief moment I forgot what my house looked like and then I was jumping over Box #27: Hallway Bookshelf – Books (heavy) like Jason Bourne in a nightgown.  It was action time!  I slipped past the leaning tower of Pisa (Boxes #16-19: Bedroom – Underwear and Socks, T-shirts, Shorts, Yoga Stuff, Pajamas)… Skirted the jaws of hell (my armoire – it’s got very sharp edges)… Rounded the corner into then kitchen (Box #41: Living Room – Lampshades! On Top Only!)… Stubbed my toe on Box #34: Appliances – Toaster Oven and Microwave… Only to find Box #8: Kitchen – FRAGILE! GLASSES!          Who packed all of the glasses?

The movers arrive on Wednesday morning, which gives us two more days of circus living.  Kiki knows to stay close – at any minute this whole maze could come tumbling down around her.  Until then, I’ve got to figure out what to do with Box #59: Linen Closet – Towels, Sheets, Blankets, and Duvet Comforters… it’s in my way to the toilet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

